The seeds are starting!!

My little seeds have graduated!  It only took a week on top of my fridge for the 2 small flats of flowers to germinate.  I’m pretty good at forgetting to check on them, but they didn’t get too leggy this year.  I moved them into the garden window where they will get some good morning light.  I have a small greenhouse in the garage, but really need to rig some grow lights and heating pads in order to use it.

I started impatiens, forget-me-nots, marigolds, morning glory, hollyhocks, and zinnias.  Marigolds and zinnias will grace the front yard, where we get heavy hot afternoon sun.  They seem to be the only variety that can withstand such conditions, and the bunnies don’t seem to like them so much.  The impatiens will bring all the smaller gardens together as they will provide a similar theme in all beds.  Hollyhocks are a new experiment this year – I’m going to plant a sun garden along the driveway and they will add the necessary height at the top of the garden.

I really like these starter kits.  They come with pellets that expand when watered, then you sow the seeds and cover with the clear plastic lid that is included.  Once the seeds start, you remove the lid and place it under the kit for safekeeping.  The only problem I’ve ever had with these kits is removing the plants once they outgrow the kit.  It’s a delicate operation, but patience is always the name of the game when dealing with young plants with tender roots.  It’s easy to pull the plant out without its roots.  I take a small baby spoon and dig them out.  Delicately.

Their next home will be individual paper cups, and in a few weeks, they will be ready for the great outdoors!

Comments

