Weeding Wednesday

In true Flylady fashion, I’m officially declaring this, and every Wednesday during the growing season, Weeding Wednesday!

There is certainly time for all things in the garden – it’s my escape from the inside chores that I despise!  But I find if I schedule the inside chores, they are more likely to happen than if I just think about it.  Don’t know about you, but my life is full of good intentions.  From housework to grocery shopping and all stops in between, if I don’t put it on the list, it ain’t gettin’ done!

Weeding can be a very dreaded chore of the yard, but it is actually very therapeutic.  Pulling those weeds and saving the space and nutrients for the things I’m actually intending to grow makes the whole ‘chore’ worthwhile.

However, I have discovered beauty in this particular weed.  Its small orange flower is so tiny you could miss it.

I’m quite sure it’s a weed because I never planted it and it seems to like to grow between the cracks of the driveway.  So dainty for a weed!  A quick google search reveals it’s called Scarlet Pimpernel (Anagallis arvensis).  It’s a very low-growing weed, one that I almost hate to destroy.  I may just keep some around for groundcover – it looks lovely among the rocks!

5 thoughts on “Weeding Wednesday

  1. I am also learning that some weeds are delightful, don’t they say that a weed is just a plant in a place that you don’t want it to be? I’m relieved that you also find weeding therapeutic, it’s good thinking time I find. And like yourself, anything that gets me away from the dreaded household chores is good! I like the post title, looking forward to seeing more 🙂

    Like

  2. I love this idea. Have you stuck to it? I am such a sporadic weeder–weather too hot? Can’t weed. Kids need attention? Can’t weed. Rain? Can’t weed. Anything else to do? Can’t weed. Now I am really paying because I have to weed everything. Ouch.

    Like

  3. Pingback: That IS a weed, right? | garden4therapy

Comments

