Weeding with Willis

In the yard with Willis

I caved.

Finally, after 20 years of a dogless existence, I caved.  I admit, it didn’t take much.  The most difficult part was convincing the Hub that the kids are old enough to train, exercise, feed, and take responsibility for a dog.  It was easier than I thought.  Turns out, all I really had to do was tell him that I really wanted a dog.

Son #2 is very resourceful, and can be very convincing when he wants something.  He could smell my guard coming down, he could sense my husband’s weakening reluctance.  We were being circled by the shark, and never saw it coming!

S#2 also has a big heart.  He searched online for a rescue, and fell in love with a little guy being fostered at our local Animal Friends.  OK, we will go meet him.  And that’s all it took.  We walked in and asked to meet Willis.  I could tell the staff really liked Willis, and I soon found out why.  He walked right over to S#2, plopped down at his feet, rolled onto his back, wanting his belly rubbed.  Which resulted in a good belly rub!  Instant friends!

Willis has been part of our lives for all of 3 weeks.  He’s not actually a little guy.  At an estimated 5 months, he weighs in at 38 lbs!  He’s a really good dog – didn’t take much to house train – is very good-natured.  I’ve actually lost 7 pounds, because he really needs to go on a daily walk.  He’s a bundle of energy at times, and with a small house, there’s not much room to run around.

Learning how to live with a dog has proven to be challenging at times.  We are all adjusting!  Gardening doesn’t come naturally to this dog.  Wanting my undivided attention while outside, however, does.  He loves to dig and he loves to grab a mouthful of grass and flail it side to side, just to watch the grass fall out of the sky.  It’s actually bringing back memories of trying to garden with small children in tow.  It’s not the solitary experience I’ve come to enjoy in recent years.  But again, we are all adjusting!

Don’t tell S#2, but I know that Willis is actually my dog.  While the kids are all old enough to be responsible for the dog, truth is, they are also old enough to want time with their friends.  They have busy lives, and adding a four-legged friend to the mix is a foreign idea.  So, Willis is my garden bud.  I need to harness his love of digging – maybe we’ll plant a tree!

6 Replies to “Weeding with Willis”

Comments

