The Stained Glass Bird Feeder

Spent part of the day raking leaves, making some natural mulch for the flower beds.  I rake them up and then run them over with the lawnmower.  Spread and water.  I hear it’s nature’s best mulch, returning 87% of the trees’ nutrients back to the soil.  Ultimate recycling!

I’ve had one lonely bird feeder in the butterfly garden, bought strictly on its beauty and color dynamics.

_260

I’ve only filled it a couple of times.  According to the Audubon Society, I’ve really placed it in the worst possible location EVER.

Too low – predators can reach it from the ground.

Too little sun – I guess birds appreciate the sunshine for warmth in winter.

Too close to the dog run – Willis would scare the birds away.

So I’ve moved it to a sunnier, higher, out of the dog’s path location, a lower branch of the crabapple tree.  The robins have been feasting on the crabapples and I’m hoping to attract other birds to the yard with this feeder.

_253

I’m also hoping to get better at capturing photos of the birds.

One thought on “The Stained Glass Bird Feeder

  1. Pingback: Putting the Garden to Bed for the Winter | garden4therapy

Comments

