Let’s Try Composting . . . again

I really want to be successful at composting – I really do.  I’ve tried a few times, and lost interest once it became too much work or had to be thought about too often.  In my latest attempt, the ingredients turned into a great attraction for fruit flies, which caused me to send the “kitchen scraps” ceramic container to the deck.  Where I promptly forgot about it.  And where it eventually cracked – ceramic does not do well in the winter around here.

With my current attempt, I’m thinking through the details before I step one foot into that, well, wasteland.

There’s a Recipe for Compost.  A pretty easy way to remember it is by color.

photo (4)

Right now, I have an abundance of leaves that I’ve raked up from the yard and shredded with the lawnmower.  I also can prepare some newspaper by shredding it with the office shredder.  So there’s my brown stuff.  I will keep my extra brown in a covered pile beside the composter.

The green materials seem to be easier to come by – kitchen scraps will be saved and stored in this handy-dandy trash can

photo (3)

I picked up at Wal-Mart.  I have biodegradable plastic liners from a former composting attempt.  I read somewhere that you can freeze these scraps so they are available when you need them.  That’s a great idea.

Because all these scraps take lots of time to become compost.  Lots of time.  So while I’m waiting for the compost ingredients to become compost, I can save these extra ingredients for the next batch in the freezer and in the pile next to the composter.

I have a composter that tumbles.  It’s very easy to turn, and makes compost in as little as 4 weeks.  So I’m told.

composter

I have added layers of ingredients – 2 inches of green + 6 inches of brown then sprinkle with some water – to the composter .  You aren’t suppose to fill it up, so I made 3 layers.

Now I need to turn the composter once a week.  So I will add a reminder to my iPhone to remind me to turn the composter.  Turn it Tuesdays!

I have yet to make a successful batch of compost, but I’m hopeful that my renewed plan should have me turning out compost all winter.

I’ll keep you posted.

5 thoughts on “Let’s Try Composting . . . again

  1. Christina says:

    Making compost is really worth while. I don’t know how well the composter you have works; I find the most important thing is to keep the compost moint but not soaking wet. Winter is always slower than summer and you really need 3 composters; one for storing compost that’s ready, one that’s ‘cooking’ and one you’re filling. Freezing the kitchen waste really doesn’t sound a very environmently sensible thing to do – all tht energy used on waste. Unless of course your freezer is always running empty then it will use less energy if its full.

    Like

    • gardengirl204 says:

      Good point on freezing waste! Never even thought of that angle – yes, our extra freezer is usually holding very little. I like the 3 composter idea – just wish the composters looked better in the yard! I may have to design some sort of attractive screen to hide them. Thanks for your thoughts!

      Like

  2. gardengirl204 says:

    You are welcome! I have always struggled with coming up with enough brown – shredded newspaper will have to be the majority. Our bunny died a few months ago – she was good at producing lots of brown for me! Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Comments

