Mailorder Flowers

I’m going to sound like a real ingrate here, so be forewarned!

I have to tell you that my initial response to the very idea that my husband actually ordered my Valentine’s Day flowers online was one of disappointment.  I’m not sure they are even considered mailorder, but I guess the same amount of effort went into ordering these lovelies from proflowers.com than would have taken to pick up the phone and call the local florist.

Valentine's Day '14

But part of me really hates the idea.  We remark all the time how the local florists don’t really seem to exist anymore.  Same way the local bakery went.  And I guess we are contributing to the demise.

I had to stifle a laugh on my weekend trip to WalMart last Sunday.  The entire produce department was piled sky-high with bouquets of roses.  A dozen roses at WalMart went for $15.99.  Can’t beat the prices at WalMart.

And there’s the conundrum.  With the current state of affairs in the US, most people are working far more for far less.  And when you have less to spend, you really start looking for the best deals in town.  Unfortunately, those deals come from the closest WalMart.  I hate shopping there, I really do.  But the prices truly help put food on the table for this crew of 5 that I feed.

So back to my flowers.  They arrived a day late, due to a snowstorm that actually sent our township into a State of Emergency.  So the extra day led to my flowers arriving on Valentine’s Day, but not in the best of shape.  The kids were home when the box arrived, so they did their best to prep the flowers.  They cut the stems and placed them in water, just as the directions stated.  They looked pretty sad when I got home from work that day.

But they soon recovered.  On day 2, the alstroemeria perked up – I had thought they were dead – and the roses started to recover.  I do not know how but they look better today (day 4) than the day they arrived.

So I will take it easy on my husband – he works very long hours and seriously does not have the time to stop in at any local florist – even if there were any around.  And he knows I love flowers, no matter where they may have gotten their start in life!

And aren’t they gorgeous!

At least he didn’t buy them at WalMart!

7 Replies to “Mailorder Flowers”

  1. Yes – Walmart. We all have to do it nowadays. I used to get flats of annuals at nurseries, the past two years I’ve gotten them at Meijer’s – for incredibly good prices. I feel badly for the nurseries, but I can’t afford flowers otherwise. And I need flowers.

    Like

    1. I’m hoping that I won’t have to buy flats this year. With a little luck, my own seedlings will perform. Without luck, I’ll probably be in line at the local big box store. Sorry, locals.

      Like

      1. Oh I’m sure ProFlowers has excellent flowers…enjoy them. I’m so excited I found your blog. I’m starting seeds again this year after a failed attempt last year(ugh)!

        Like

      2. I hope it goes better this year for you! I have to admit that I try every year, and usually have to supplement with store bought. But it’s fun to see what starts and it’s so great to have flowers in the yard that I grew myself!

        Like

Comments

