Bloom Day – April 19, 2014

It’s been a while since I had anything in the yard worth mentioning on Bloomsday, but it does appear that Winter has gasped his last breath and it may be time for  . . .  wait for it  . . . Spring!!

Nothing says Spring like . . .

Nothing says Spring like . . .

I took B out to Hazuza’s Greenhouse on Sunday to help me pick out the pansies for the containers.  It was such a beautiful day, I left them out on the deck to acclimate.  Tuesday morning, I phoned the hub from the office in a panic, as I had forgotten to move them closer to the house for warmth.  It was SNOWING.  He moved them in, and my check on them yesterday revealed they certainly did survive.  Pansies are very hardy and do prefer the cooler weather of Spring or Fall, but I was not so sure how the snow would treat them.

Pansies

Pansies

The pansies will be the showcase flower of the yard this Spring – we got enough to fill the hanging planters and pots on the deck, as well as the planter on the chair.

the chair

the chair

The lungwort (Plumoneria) looks spectacular this year.

Lungwort

Lungwort

She heralds in Spring, and those speckled leaves will add an interesting touch even after her multi colored blooms have faded.  One of my favorite specimens in the Crabapple Shade garden.

I purchased a new daffodil for the garden – it’s a pink one.  B agrees it actually looks rather peachy!

Blooms@g4t 4.19.2014

Peachy Daffodils

Be sure to check out what else is blooming this month on Bloomsday.

 

One thought on “Bloom Day – April 19, 2014

Comments

