Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring

What I thought would be an easy post turned into waaayyy more reminiscing than I bargained for!  So, thanks for that, WP!!

Of course, any garden blogger’s first thoughts of Spring are colorful flowers.  I knew I had some pictures of the kids helping me plant some color down at my Grandma’s house.  I had forgotten that the pictures I was looking for were now part of a scrapping project that has been an on-again-off-again event, like so many of the projects I have started.  But what I hadn’t expected was the trip down memory lane.

This scrapbook page was one of my first, and I’m very proud of it.

ScrapbookGarden

to grandmother’s house we go . . . . May 2003

I really like using actual developed pictures, although I understand there’s a whole other world of digital scrapping out there.  I haven’t tried it yet, but considering the fact that most of my pictures never see the outside of my computer screen, I should probably take it up.

Every spring, for the last 5 years of her life, Grandma had a visit from me and the kids on her birthday – May 29.  It was the perfect time to pick up a flat of flowers and decorate the two planters on her porch, then line the walkway with (low maintenance) marigolds.  She wasn’t much of a gardener, but she loved flowers.  All the neighbors would tell her how lovely it all looked.

That would prompt a proper thank you card and letter from Grandma.  Isn’t it really a shame how, not unlike the printed photograph, the days of actually writing a note and placing it in an envelope with postage has pretty much fallen by the wayside.

 

Be sure to check out all the other entries in this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring!

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Spring

  1. Julie says:

    IT is lovely to see your scrapbook and read about your memories. I too came across some letters I have kept from family members who are now gone – it made them feel alive again to see their handwriting and read their words.

    Like

    • Elizabeth says:

      Thanks, Julie, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Back when I was actively scrapping, I was told to always include handwritten notes on the pages for that very reason – the reader will be able to “hear” my voice through the handwriting. It’s not as clean as a typewritten message, but so much more personal.

      Like

  2. Connie Hanks - ClickyChickCreates.com says:

    Gorgeous scrapbook layout! I would be proud of that too 🙂 Taking photos and developing them or using the old photos so many of us have in shoe boxes and pairing with pretty papers and telling our stories… I just love it! I’m part of a month long scrapbooking challenge right now where we scrapbook everyday for the month. Part of the class is receiving daily prompts and inspiration samples. It’s a nice way to document stories we wouldn’t necessarily remember to tell on our own 🙂 Hope you find your way back to the hobby!

    Like

    • Elizabeth says:

      I agree, Connie, there’s nothing like actual hold-em-in-your-hand pictures to tell your story! And I love all the papers and decorations that go along with scrapping – I do miss it! I’ve been to a couple of day-long scrapping events – love sharing great ideas from with others that attend. Thanks for stopping by, and for your kind words!

      Like

  3. Garden Walk Garden Talk says:

    I too love doing the planters in Spring, all fresh and perky. Still a bit early here, mine are just filled with potting soil waiting. I never did a scrapbook, but wish I made one. Memory never is the same without one. Stories told in pictures.

    Like

Comments

