Pruning a clematis

My clematis, a jackmanii variety, has been growing wild for about 10 years.

Clematis

I trim it back to the ground in the fall, and it successfully regenerates itself each spring.  I train it on a trellis to reach the height of the mailbox in the mailbox garden.  I’m pretty sure the mailman would appreciate some pruning efforts on this one!

I found an excellent guide for pruning most types of clematis.  Raymond Evison describes three ways to prune, depending on the variety as well as the results you are looking to achieve.  This is the suggested procedure for pruning my jackmanii –

PruningClematis

Here’s a specimen that climbs the trellis to add the height in the lamp post garden.  I train it up a small trellis then attach some twine to the post for the tendrils that climb even higher.

193

This year, I’ve noticed many clematis in the neighborhood that appear to be more tame than mine, and I rather like that look.  They may be younger specimens, but I’m hoping that a little pruning care will tame my wild boys just a bit.

 

3 thoughts on “Pruning a clematis

  1. Look at how pretty! I just planted mine this year and hoping it survives. I basically put it in a spot that gets maybe an hour of sun. Not much going on with it, it’s not dying but it’s very small.

    Like

Comments

