In a Vase on Monday – Creamy Callas

My first submission to Cathy’s In a Vase on Monday turned out to be more challenging than I thought it would be.  I knew exactly what flowers I wanted to highlight, and coming up with a container that was tall enough to handle my tall Creamy Callas left little room for creativity.

3 Creamy Callas

This tall vase doesn’t seem to be as original as what I’ve enjoyed from other participants, but hopefully you will forgive me.

These lovely Callas were given to me by a friend at the office, Diane.  Last fall, she sent out an e-mail offering calla corms to whoever wanted them.  Of course, I snatched 6 right up.  I kept them in the garage all winter, and actually rememberd to bring them out and plant them back in May.  They sprouted almost immediately, and in mid-June, they started blooming.

The leaves of this plant are interestingly speckled.  I checked with Diane as soon as the leaves unfurled, I was concerned I had some sort of blight!  But that’s the one feature she really loves about this variety.

I like the creamy yellow color, and matched it up with some of the enormous blue hosta leaves that grow in The Shade Garden.  My daylillies are up and blooming, and I chose of few of their leaves to offset the height a bit.

The true challenge came from actually photographing this arrangement.  I really need some practice on lighting, avoiding shadows, choosing backgrounds.  It’s amazing how much you pay attention to the details of other shots once you have tried to do it yourself!

Of course, true to how I roll, I’m submitting this entry with little time to spare!  It’s still Monday, tho!!

 

10 Replies to “In a Vase on Monday – Creamy Callas”

  1. The Calla Lilies look fresh and beautiful in the clear glass vase, Elizabeth. I was surprised to see them as my own Callas died off months ago, which speaks volumes about the difference in our climates.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Kris! I just popped over to your blog to see that you write from Southern California – I’m sure you have a much longer growing season than we do in Western Pennsylvania! I was truly enjoying your squirrel friend in the bird feeder – great shots!

      Like

    1. I love my camera for it’s ability to capture great shots, just point and click! Unfortunately, it has spoiled me and I really must learn how to use it more manually for occasions such as these!

      Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! I will definitely try again! I love walking through the garden and thinking of each friend who has contributed. These callas turned out to be so elegant, I have to find a special place to showcase them next year!

      Like

  2. It adds to the challenge choosing the right container and getting decent photographs, as you have found out. It works perfectly though – it’s so simple but showcases the beauty of the callas, and now we are in the summer months keeping it simple is quite hard when there is all that temptation out there! Thanks for joining in and hope to see you again soon!

    Like

Comments

