Rose Talk – Garden Club Update

I recently joined the neighborhood garden club, and attended the March meeting last week.  The Greenridge Garden Club is a small group of ladies who all have some connection with my neighborhood, Greenridge.  Most of them lived here at one point, but only 3 members (including me) are actual residents.

One of the members, Maryann, is a Master Gardener, and she presented a talk on growing roses.

Maryann has over 60 varieties of roses in her garden.  But her first suggestion was to start small.  Perhaps 3 plants initially, choose a red, yellow, and a pink.  She assured us that roses are very easy to grow.  Dig a big hole and plant up to the graft knot.  Easy speesy.

Then she proceeded to talk for 90 minutes on care, pests, and diseases.  I had to suppress a giggle.

One of Maryann’s favorite rose suppliers is David Austin. These roses are a bit pricey, but she claims the quality is well worth the price.   The David Austin website offers a great tutorial for those of us who are new to rose gardening.  I highly recommend a visit.

Of the three types of roses – wild, old garden, modern – she focussed her talk on the modern roses.  Modern roses are defined as roses developed after 1867.  Hybrid teas, the kind you find at the florist, are very fussy.  Floribunda (many flowering), miniatures, and climbers round out the modern roses.

Many of the members like to grow the knockout variety, but Maryann does not care for them.  However, the long blooming season and small plant structure make it a very attractive choice for smaller gardens.

RainbowKnockOut_mega

Knockout (photo credit: pallensmith.com)

5 thoughts on “Rose Talk – Garden Club Update

  1. johnvic8 says:

    Elizabeth, I do hope you will enjoy your garden club. I’ve had great fun…and learned a lot…in being a garden club member. Also, made some good new friends with whom I can share my love of gardening.
    We went through a period of hybid teas…they were beautiful but did require a lot of maintenance. Knockouts can provide the color one wants without a lot of the pain. Some here just let them grow, don’t worry about deadheading (I do), and just prune them in late winter.

    Like

    • Elizabeth says:

      I have a couple of climbers that came with the house, but I’ve never taken care of them. Cut them back each fall and just let them do their thing. I’m thinking of trying some small bush variety, but am still debating. Our garden club provides many community interactive opportunities, and I’m really looking forward to expanding my garden buddy list!

      Like

    • Elizabeth says:

      As a newbie to the rose garden, I’m all about easy! And with my limited space and limited growing season, I’m with you. I think knockouts will be a good introductory for now.

      Like

  2. Gerlinde says:

    I love roses of all kind. I only have two rose bushes in front of my fence and they are very pretty and require not much water which is good because we are on severe water rationing here in northern California. I will read the tutorial and find out what kind of roses I have.

    Like

Comments

