April Flowers – Finally!

I’ve been waiting so patiently for the flowers to arrive.  I’ve watched many other garden blogs sharing their blooms for months now, and I have been so envious.

Here in Pittsburgh, we’ve endured yet another harsh winter, and I keep telling myself that it all really helps us appreciate Spring – when it finally gets here!

April Flowers

Fun story about the violas this year.  I planted the Chair display with violas last year, and just let them bloom almost all summer.  I hadn’t realized that as they went to seed, the wind distributed and planted an entire garden of violas beside the Chair!

I’ve been busy transplanting these volunteers, and have 3 planters full already!  They were the first little plants to bloom, right through the snow!

I’ve discovered a new meme hosted by Judith over at Lavender Cottage – Mosaic Monday!   It’s a fun way to chronicle the garden here at G4T. There’s a few other gardens on display, among other interesting collages.  Be sure to check them out!

10 thoughts on “April Flowers – Finally!

  1. Judith@Lavender Cottage says:

    It is definitely worth the wait when we are rewarded with beautiful spring blooms. So far I can only claim mini daffs, crocus and muscari but the others should appear in another couple of weeks.
    Thank you for linking to Mosaic Monday Elizabeth.

    Like

  2. Donna@Gardens Eye View says:

    Glad you joined Mosaic Monday Elizabeth. And I wish my violas and pansies went to seed. I hope to take the ones in the containers where I have them growing now, and move them to the beds to seed later in the year. Just love growing these flowers from seed.

    Like

    • Elizabeth says:

      Now I remember where I discovered Mosaic Monday! I start clicking around and have a hard time retracing that trail! Thanks for the “referral”! I agree – it is very special to grow flowers from seed – when they grow and I remember to water them – haha!

      Like

  3. Eileen says:

    Oh wow, how nice to have the wonderful volunteer violas. Your flowers and images are beautiful! I am visiting from Judith’s Mosaic Monday.. Have a happy week!

    Like

Comments

