Happy 2016

Took a tour of the gardens today, just to see if this mild weather yielded any surprises.  I keep waiting for the hellebores, and was really hoping for that surprise.

wp-1451671978684.jpg

The greens are looking good, but no blooms yet.  That’s good.  I will wait until Easter and take another garden walk!  Hopefully they will be sporting more color then – guess they call it Lenten Rose for a very good reason!

wp-1451671959758.jpg

The cockleburs are very abundant in one neglected corner of the yard.  I can’t remember what the blooms looked like, but I think they were purple.  The seed pockets are very interesting, and very sticky.  Glad that most are too tall to be attached to Willis as he runs past.

Just as I was about to give up, I couldn’t believe what I saw just under the deck.

wp-1451671261107.jpg

Little viola volunteers!  What a really lovely surprise.

I hope your new year is full of wonder and surprise!  Happy 2016!

5 Replies to “Happy 2016”

    1. I’m beginning to wonder about the placement of these hellebores. I thought partial to full shade was appropriate. Perhaps the soil is the problem. I’ll have to investigate, but maybe patience is the best remedy!

      Like

Comments

